jump to navigation

Listen to this! The Rabbits June 17, 2007

Posted by oktyabr in listen to this, opinions, personal.
trackback

Ah, I LOVE independent music!!! 😀

My latest discovery, all for FREE, is the quirky band The Rabbits.

Very hard to describe adequately in only a few words. Some of their music is very melancholy, some just seems to be a recording of the artists simply having fun fooling around, others definitely have a message… I’ll leave it to you to figure out what that message might be! They even do one song sung entirely in POLISH (.mp3)!!!

Regardless, I found them by browsing one of my favorite indy music labels, WM Recordings, short for Weird Music Recordings, a kind of hang out for the more obscure, circus side-show type of bands (meant in a good way!), and The Rabbits definitely fit well here! Be sure to check out their first album release under the WM Recordings label, Squirrel Brains and if you only listen to one song from that album try the soulful Best Is Geeja (.mp3)

Comments»

1. meowkaat - June 22, 2007

Funky music, but I do not like the dude’s voice. It reminds me of the band “Wheatus” …”I’m just a teenage dirtbag baby”- cool song, but his voice, his voice…makes me want to shreik and claw my eyes with a fork…maybe even one with four tines on it.
But the music is nice… I like “my mom is my mom”.

2. le_y_sir - July 25, 2007

thanks for the heads up this guy sounds awesome

-le_y_sir

3. Lola - April 23, 2008

Very different for sure… I like that this guy’s voice is not your every day average vibrato pop material… adds charm to the whole thing if you ask me.


Leave a Reply

