jump to navigation

Dapper 3 Seq24 from source February 20, 2006

Posted by oktyabr in audio, debian, linux, ubuntu.
trackback

In answer to the problems I had installing Seq24 in my last post I decided to build it from source. First I had to download it from http://www.filter24.org/seq24/ and then make sure I had all the neccessary build tools. It said on the page it used “automake” and “autoconf” to build so I got those. First build didn’t find “libasound-headers” so tried to install the libasound2-dev package (and dependancies) but my us.archive.ubuntu repository gave me a 404. Pulling a trick out of my sleeve I learned some time ago I fired up nano and changed the “us” references in /etc/apt/sources.list to “ca” instead, which worked wonderfully (thank you Canada!)

Also had to install gtkmm2.0 and dev packages which I did find in the Ubuntu repositores. Fresh version of Seq24 up and running!

Oh, to aid in my fluxbox endevours I also did sudo apt-get install ark rox-filer. Start rox-filer with the “rox” command. It’s a fairly lightweight graphical filemanager, perfect for fluxy. Right clicked on my seq24-0.7.0.tar.gz and selected “Set Run Action” from the menu and then put “ark” in front of the wildcard symbols they have in the popup box. Sure, couldn’t have extracted it from command line pretty quick too but figured hey, Ubuntu is a GUI distro, right? 😉 Now you KDE and Gnome guys should feel a little more at home!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

